top of page



Concerto for Harp and full symphony orchestra composed for Małgorzata Zalewska by Gary Guthman.

I. Intrigue

After its impressionistic introduction, a syncopated and jazzy rhythmic pulse from the orchestra, the orchestration is full-throttled with brass and percussion interspersed between the harp passages. 


II. Dalliance

The second movement is by design thematic with full capacity of the instrument’s sonority. Taking advantage of the orchestral accompaniment, the structure of the harp solo is a combination of lush harmonies, expressed melodically with arpeggiated accompaniment - a 20th century approach and including an atmosphere taken from the Romantic era of composition, highlighted by jazz-inflected harmonies.


III. Covenant

The third and final movement begins with the ‘pixie-like’ phrasings from the harp as the string section provides a delightful pizzicato backdrop. As the movement progresses, long-flowing phrases by the orchestra with 1st movement-like rhythmic recapitulated punctuations, give it a delightful mystique. The piece ends as the 2nd-half of the final movement returns to Slavic rhythms, culminating in a Carnival atmosphere of fireworks and celebration!


Harp Solo

Vln.I, II / Viola / Cello / Double Bass

Flute I,II / Oboe I,II /  Cl. I,II /  Bs. I,II

French  Horn I, II, III, IV

Trumpet I, II, III / Trombones I, II, III / Tuba

Percussion I, II / Tympani


"Wow!  What a concerto! I really love the massive aural landscapes you've created with broad expanses but then with more intimate visits to places within that canvas.  Impressive.Beyond the architectonic, structural features of the work, I am impressed with the feeling tone it carries...for me it's like a love letter from the composer to the harpist."

                                                                                                                                                                                                                              - Eric Funk 

                                                                                                                                        (American contemporary classical composer and conductor)

„It was with great pride and pleasure to be the first to conduct this beautiful and complex Harp Concerto!  

- Sławomir Chrzanowski

(Principal conductor and Artistic Director - Zabrze Philharmonic)


This Concerto shines with all shades of colour and is instrumentally delightful. After the first few measures, where the flute and clarinet imperceptibly weave, we move into a world of peace and pure beauty. Along with complex and syncopated rhythms, the harmonies change quickly as both the musicians and audience are drawn into the piece as it develops.

- Ewa Jaślar

(Harp Soloist - New York Harp Ensemble, President - Polish Harp Society)

bottom of page